History of the TSC Conferences


TSC - The Conference 

The Science of Consciousness is an interdisciplinary conference emphasizing broad and rigorous approaches to all aspects of the study and understanding of conscious awareness. Topical areas include neuroscience, philosophy, psychology, biology, quantum physics, meditation and altered states, machine consciousness, culture and experiential phenomenology.   The Tucson Biennial Conference Series – The Science of Consciousness, has been held annually since 1994, (in even numbered years) in Tucson, Arizona. The conference is sponsored by the Center for Consciousness Studies at the University of Arizona, and alternates yearly between Tucson, Arizona and various locations around the world with partner organizations and institutions, including Italy, Denmark, Japan, Sweden, Czech Republic, Hungary, Hong Kong, Finland and Interlaken, Switzerland.  

The Science of Consciousness (TSC) conferences are the pre-eminent world gatherings on all approaches to the profound and fundamental question of how the brain produces conscious experience, a question which addresses who we are, the nature of reality and our place in the universe. The TSC conference is sponsored and produced by The Center for Consciousness Studies at the University of Arizona.

TSC Conference Videos

YouTube 2016 through 2020  

iTunes 2010 through 2016  

Tucson Conferences

1994 Tucson 1  Apr 12-17
1996 Tucson 2  Apr   8-13  
1998 Tucson 3 Apr 27-May 2
2000 Tucson 4  Apr 10-15 
2002 Tucson 5  Apr  8-12   
2004 Tucson 6  Apr  7-11   
2006 Tucson 7  Apr  4-8     
2008 Tucson 8  Apr  8-12   
2010 Tucson 9  Apr 12-17 
2012 Tucson 10 Apr   9-14  
2014 Tucson 11  Apr  21-26 20th Anniversary
2016 Tucson 12  Apr  25-30
2018 Tucson 13  Apr 2-7  
2020 Tucson 14  Apr 13-18  postponed due to Covid-19
2020 Tucson15  Online Sep 14-18, 2020 
2022 Tucson 16  Upcoming:  April 18-23, 2022


Co-Sponsored Conferences
TSC - Science of Consciousness
The alternate year international co-sponsored TSC conferences held overseas in cooperation with partner organizations and institutions.

1995-2017- Past Cities have included:

1995  Ischia, Italy 

1997  Elsinore, Denmark

1999  Tokyo, Japan

2001  Skovde, Sweden

2003  Prague, Czech Republic

2005  Copenhagen, Denmark

2007  Budapest, Hungary

2009  Hong Kong, China

2011  Stockholm, Sweden

2013  Agra, India

2015  Helsinki, Finland

2017  San Diego, USA

2019  Interlaken, Switzerland